"ONE FOR THE LADIES Q. Why are men like guns? A. Keep one around long enough and eventually you're going to want to shoot it."

rss search

Jazz Information

line

Live Jazz is a regular event on ‘What’s Happening’ at The Hillary Step. Every Sunday and Wednesday from 8:30 pm we will be hosting a jazz gig featuring musicians largely from the NW, but also those on a national tour that our booking guru Bob Jones brings to Whalley Range.

Coming up:

Sunday 7th July World Without Walls

Original compositions fusing jazz, classical and indo-persian music

Wednesday 10th July Caz Boaden Trio, Caz on drums, Paul Kilvington on keys, Ed Harrison on bass, dynamic jazz and latin.

Sunday 14th July Tobie Meadland Quartet

Violin led swingin’ jazz

Sunday 21st July Nat Blooms Quartet, Nat on vocals, standards and new songs with ace accompaniment.

Wednesday 24th July Sam Jefferson, fine singer/guitarist, blues and originals

Sunday 28th July William de Souza Quartet, Brazilian guitarist leads a fine band, bossas and beyond

Sunday 4th August Dave Roberts quartet, Dave on sax, Mal Fisher piano, Paul Medina bass, Chris Pendlebury drums, straight ahead modern jazz

Wednesday 7th August Dave Burgoyne Trio

Ace keyboard player with funky accompaniment

Sunday 11th August Paul Farr Trio Funky guitar led originals

Sunday 18th August Sonorous wide-ranging originals and standards

Wednesday 21st August Claire Victoria Roberts vocals, violin and keys, blues and ballads
Sunday 25th August Annie Long Quartet, classic standards, Annie on vocals with her fab combo

Sunday 1st September Unfurl Quartet, Olivia Moore leads on violin, Indian influenced jazz originals

Wednesday 4th September Al Morrison Quartet, ace guitarist leads his funky combo

Sunday 8th September Spirit Radio, twisted, freewheeling instrumental versions of dark ballads, blues and dance tunes from Appalachia and the delta. Accordion, guitar/Uke and violin.

Sunday 15th September Mike Ciubuta Trio dynamic modern jazz led by ace guitarist

Wednesday 18th September Gogledd Quartet – Guitar led jazz improvisations on standards

Sunday 22 September Cusp adventurous four-piece with original compositions

Sunday 29th September Jazz Crackers’ New show ‘Name That Tune’

Wednesday 2nd October Will Tang Trio, blues influenced improvisations

Sunday 6th October The Revival Room, revitalising classics

Sunday 13th October Jazz Measure – vocals, keys, guitar, bass drums, popular tunes given a new treatment

Wednesday 16th October Stuart McCallum guitar soundscapes

Sunday 20th October Cazboaden Quartet, swinging modern jazz from the north’s finest

Sunday 27th October Johnny Hunter Quartet modern jazz with Johnny on drums, Mark Hanslip, tenor sax, Graham South, trumpet, Seth Bennet, bass

Wednesday 30th October Mike Hall Trio, doyen saxist lets rip

Sunday 3rd November Matt Owens Trio bass led originals and treatments

For further information please contact us at The Hillary Step on 0161 881 1978 or email jazz@thehillarystep.co.uk